On, Off-Field Honors Aplenty For Bemidji Football

A successful season on and off the field for Bemidji football concluded with a series of awards announced earlier this month, including academic and All-District honors for the team and individuals.

For their work in the classroom as a team, the Lumberjacks earned Class AAAAA Team Academic All-State Silver Division status. Individually, senior safety Isaiah Biehn was one of 18 student-athletes chosen as a Class AAAAA Individual Academic All-State selection.

North Central Red Sub-District awards were plentiful for the Lumberjacks, headlined by two player of the year awards on the defensive side of the ball.

Senior linebacker and Bemidji State commit Colton Hinrichs was chosen as the district’s Defensive Player of the Year after finishing as one of the team’s leading tacklers while also claiming three sacks and an interception. Senior defensive end Isaiah Rintala was named the district’s Defensive Lineman of the Year following a team-best five-sack season.

Rintala and Hinrichs were among the All-District first team honorees, joined by Biehn, senior wide receiver Matt Arel, senior cornerback Brandon Lussier, senior center Tyler Simon, senior quarterback Brett Tharaldson, and junior nose tackle Jack Twelvetrees.

Honorable Mention awards also went to junior safety Caden Bolte, senior linebacker and kicker Grant Declusin, senior running back Will Falldorf, junior linebacker and tight end Gavin Luksik, junior defensive end Nate Schwinghammer, and senior slot James Williams.

The Lumberjacks’ season concluded with a 5-2 record and a 21-6 semifinal victory against Sartell-St. Stephen in the shortened Section 8AAAAA playoffs.