Seeds Confirmed Ahead Of Section Football Playoffs

After a six-week sprint through a COVID-shortened regular season, teams across the state of Minnesota now prepare for the start of the Section playoffs next week–the final act in a season without State tournaments.

In Class AAAAA’s Section 8, Bemidji has been confirmed as the #2 seed in the playoffs with a 4-2 record. The Lumberjacks will face #3 Sartell in a semifinal game at BSU’s Chet Anderson Stadium on Saturday, Nov. 21 at 2pm.

Park Rapids has been seeded #6 in the Section 8AAA playoffs and will travel to #3 Perham on Tuesday for a 6pm quarterfinal game. The winner will play #2 Pequot Lakes in a semifinal next Saturday.

Section 7A’s top seed is Deer River, which will host #8 Chisholm on Tuesday for a 6pm quarterfinal game. The winner will play a semifinal against the winner of #4 Braham and #5 Barnum next Saturday afternoon.

Walker-Hackensack-Akeley is slotted as the #4 seed in Section 6A, meaning it will host a Tuesday quarterfinal at 6pm against #5 Underwood. The winner will travel to #1 Breckenridge on Saturday.

In 9-Man’s Section 8, North Central (Kelliher & Northome) picked up the #4 seed and a quarterfinal matchup against #5 Warren-Alvarado-Oslo set for 5pm on Tuesday in Kelliher.

A host of local teams will kick off the Section 6 9-Man playoffs on Tuesday, led by #1 seed Win-E-Mac hosting Sebeka at 6pm from Erskine. On the same side of the bracket, #4 Blackduck will host a quarterfinal game the same day against #5 NCE/UH at 6pm. In other Tuesday quarterfinals, #7 Clearbrook-Gonvick will travel to #2 Fertile-Beltrami for a 7pm game and #3 Nevis will host #6 Park Christian at 7pm.

Several area schools–Bagley, Cass Lake-Bena, Laporte, Red Lake, and United North Central (Menahga)–will not be competing in the Section football playoffs due to distance learning, incomplete schedules, or no season.